Evidence of a Sudden Stop?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Evidence of a Sudden Stop?

i have noticed a number of articles referring to how quickly various measures of economic activity have shrunk. i thought it might be worth starting a thread on whether we are - right now - in the midst of a sudden stop. this caught my eye this evening..

from bill fleckenstein's site:

I don't have a question but have information you and your readers might find interesting. I am a consultant in solid waste and recycling and I derive much of my income from a share of the recycling revenue that is received by our clients. Over the last two to three weeks prices on various recycling materials have dropped 50-100%.

Many vendors are no longer even buying some materials even for zero cost. Revenue on cardboard has gone from over $140/ton to as low as zero/ton or no higher than $40/ton. Scrap steel has gone from $250-450/ton to $50/ton. The export markets for these materials have virtually shut down due to the lack of ability to get letters of credit and to the lack of demand in Asian countries. In 23 years I have never seen such a collapse in these markets. I think the lack of demand and revenue for recycled materials may be the canary in the coal mine in terms of just how serious the recession/depression is or will be.
    • Thanks for that data, I have heard similar stories about the inability to get letters of credit. Lack of funding has literally stopped commerce in many many areas....

See: Headed for a Sudden Stop
    Last edited by FRED; November 07, 2008, 09:03 PM. Reason: Added reference for context

Re: Evidence of a Sudden Stop?

item #2

Goldman forecasting biggest rise in joblessness since WWII

By Rex Nutting
    Last update: 10:55 a.m. EST Nov. 7, 2008